Captive Notions: Concise Commentaries on the Commonplace

Captive Notions: Concise Commentaries on the Commonplace

By

CAPTIVE NOTIONS Presents Big Thoughts in Small PackagesConcise use of language and novel observations on the idiosyncrasies of modern life combine in a lively collection of nearly 700 original aphorisms ó pithy statements in the tradition of Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Johnson, and Ralph Waldo Emerson. In CAPTIVE NOTIONS: CONCISE COMMENTARIES ON THE COMMONPLACE, author John King captures the essence of everyday concerns ó from parenting to politics, learning to lifestyles, character to careers, and much more ó in brief, mostly one-sentence doses. For example:

· A sound bite is harmful only if swallowed.
· In a democracy, your neighbors are your rulers
· For an incentive to learn facts, listen to opinions.
· Itís the marketís imperfections that treat its participants well.

In addition to offering current perspectives on timeless topics, the book probes into the abundance of new material presented by contemporary culture. Also, by mingling observations on both personal and public affairs topics, CAPTIVE NOTIONS induces reflection not only on our lives as individuals in society but also on the condition of the social contract and the health of the body politic.

Buy Captive Notions: Concise Commentaries on the Commonplace at Attic books in Nairobi Kenya.


Book details

  • Paperback
  • 167 pages
  • English
  • 0976085054
  • 978-0976085058

About John E. King

john e. king was Read More about John E. King
ksh 700
Product Out of stock
Out of stock

You can get an email alert when this product is back in stock.

Sold & Delivered by Atticbooks

Get it by Monday 4th December
Free delivery above KES 10000

Condition : Used Book This is a used book. We do our best to provide good quality books for you to read, but there is no escaping the fact that it has been owned and read by someone else previously. Therefore it will show signs of wear and may be an ex library book

Email Twitter Instagram Facebook Whatsapp

People who bought this also bought