Summer People by Brian Groh

Summer People by Brian Groh

By

A tremendously appealing and mordantly funny novel for fans of Richard Russo and Curtis Sittenfeld, about friendship, compassion, and social privilege. 

Summer People tells the story of Nathan Empson, a young college dropout and aspiring graphic novelist who has just accepted the most unusual job of his life.

In exchange for serving as a summer "caretaker" for Ellen Broderick, the eccentric matriarch of Brightonfield Cove, Maine, Nathan will earn a generous salary and gain access to one of the last bastions of old New England wealth&;an exclusive coastal community the likes of which he has never known.

It seems at first like easy money: accompanying Ellen to the immaculate Alnombak Golf and Tennis Club, or joining her for an evening of cocktails and conversation at a neighbor's mansion overlooking the anchored yachts of Albans Bay. But not everyone in the community is welcoming&;or even civil&;to someone they regard as an interloper. So Nathan finds solace in the companionship of a philosophical, ex-punk Episcopalian pastor, and the alluring nanny of the pastor's children, a feisty, dark-eyed beauty named Leah.

Nathan invites Leah for walks and late-night picnics on the beach, yet as his relationship with her deepens, he finds it difficult to ignore his employer's unexpectedly unnerving behavior. With each escalating mishap, a new aspect of Ellen's colorful past comes to light, exposing the secret lives of her old friends, flames, and enemies, as well as the story behind a scandalous incident Nathan must prevent her from repeating&;however inept his efforts may be.

In this big-hearted, immensely satisfying debut novel, Nathan must contend with competitors for Leah's affection and with an increasing suspicion that Ellen needs more help than he can provide. But sounding the alarm over Ellen's condition would mean leaving her beachside home, his summer job, and the romance that may well change his life.

Buy Summer People by Brian Groh at Attic books in Nairobi Kenya.


Book details

  • Hardcover
  • 294 pages
  • English
  • 0061210013
  • 9780061210013

About Brian Groh

brian groh grew up in ohio and has lived in great britain, costa rica, and maine. he has written for the new republic, mtv, and national geographic travele Read More about Brian Groh
ksh 500
Product Out of stock
Out of stock

You can get an email alert when this product is back in stock.

Sold & Delivered by Atticbooks

Get it by Today 01 PM - 6 PM (For orders within Nairobi only )
Free delivery above KES 20000

Condition : Used Book This is a used book. We do our best to provide good quality books for you to read, but there is no escaping the fact that it has been owned and read by someone else previously. Therefore it will show signs of wear and may be an ex library book

Email Twitter Instagram Facebook Whatsapp

More Books By Brian Groh

People who bought this also bought